Delivering ERP on a SaaS model is great and offers enterprises of all sizes a viable, scalable and flexible model, which provides a lot of benefits to users. Gartner predicts that nearly 30 per cent of new license purchases will be in the form of SaaS or will be delivered using SaaS model. IDC predicts a growth rate of 40% in SaaS model.

Looks very interesting but Is SaaS for everyone? No hardware costs, no software costs, no upfront license costs, less training needed, short implementation cycle, accelerated ROI, vendor managed hardware maintenance, upgrades and software maintenance. The advantage of going the SaaS way is just too many. However, it still may not be for everyone.

How do I figure out if SaaS is for me or not? If your needs for business management software goes anything like this, then it is not for you:

  • I have complex or very specific business processes
  • I have well established business processes that I cannot change
  • My business model keeps changing and is constantly evolving
  • I am a mid-market company or I am a large-sized company
  • I need to integrate my business management software with legacy applications
  • I need absolute control over whatever I do
  • I am very paranoid about security
