It has been quite sometime since I wrote any posts in my blog, though I have a huge list of topics identified about which I have been thinking of writing. It has been pretty hectic of late and I don’t find the time to write consistently. I have decided to change this and I am hoping that I will be able to post at least one post per week.

There has been a lot of talk about Product Development Vs. Application Development and what exactly are the differences between them, and I believe that this is a topic that has been pretty well understood by people. When we think of successful products, it becomes imperative that principles of product engineering needs to be applied as opposed to process engineering.

What exactly is process engineering?

Identifying and performing a set of requirements, design and development activities, validating to inspect if the desired product has been obtained, and relying on process optimization to help us in defining the right set of activities.

In contrast, product engineering is all about systematically engineering in desired qualities through successive stages of development. Process engineering is then applied to this fundamental structure to optimize process performance parameters.  Though, this sounds the most logical way of developing software products, there are still some unanswered questions.

1. How are the quality concerns of the products addressed?

2. How do we validate the designs?

These are questions that I would be answering in some of the posts that I intend to write in the near future (1-3 months).

 

